Super written post-apocalyptic world – Strain of resistance by Michelle Bryan

 

trainAuthor: Michelle Bryan

ASIN: B01CF981FE

Published:  February 2016

Description:

My name is Bixby. I was 12 years old when the world ended. A mysterious mist had blanketed our world, turning most of the population into blood-sucking predators. The few of us left uninfected…well, we were the prey. Vanquished to the bottom of the food chain.
For eight years we’ve fought this alien war. Barely surviving. Not knowing which day would be our last. But now we face a new threat. The parasite that took us down is evolving. Becoming smarter. Stronger. Deadlier.
The infected took everything from me. My home. My family. The man that I loved. No more.
This is the story of our resistance.
Mature themes. 17+ Rating

Review:

Topic and idea for world:
Apocalyptic/ Post-apocalyptic world is something that we know for sure, but here it seemed for me different, especially the bad ones (how the world ended in some way) – I loved the way it was written!!

Emma Bixby:
Our main character, I understand why she became like that. Her relations are very strict and well she doesn’t have many friends. Her relation with Luke, how it changed during book, I was jumping with it like YAY! in my head 🙂 And here it comes why i would cut this 0.5 star, sometimes she made me furious for her stubbornness or else, being angry for others feelings.

Plot:
We begin when main character is 12 years old. We see what kind of family she lives in (not good one), her relations with parents, and what’s the most important, how this apocalypse began.

After it we jump 8 years later, world changed a lot, everything is different, but humans survived, and we can read how they deal with problems, their relationships, how they created some kind of country and a little bit its structure.

Language:
It contains strong language, so for sure it’s not for children and teenagers. Of course not everyone like that kind of language so keep that in mind.

Recommendation:
I recommend it to people who like post-apocalyptic worlds, read in first person, see how person change in that conditions (growing up), and of course how people adapted to this entire strange world.

And one more – I liked Luke very much, his way of behaving 🙂 (but I won’t tell anything more, you have to read)

End of book put a chill down my spine!!

 

***

This author know how to write post-apocalyptic stories!

 

Leave a Reply

